The year 2021 saw the rise of Zoom as a video conferencing tool. Zoom has approximately 300 million daily meeting participants. Although it is extremely popular, many people still find it difficult to use it. In addition to the complexity of video and microphone permissions, several users wonder if other people can see their screen without permission. Do you have the same question? We will explain everything in this post.
Zoom has traditionally been a video conferencing service supporting up to 1000 participants. It comes with additional features like breakout rooms, planning meetings, whiteboard, etc. Screen sharing is another feature of Zoom.
So what happens when you share your screen and others can see your screen without your knowledge? Find the answers to all these questions here.
Can the host zoom in to see what I’m doing
In a Zoom meeting, the video call host and meeting participants have the screen sharing feature, provided the host has it enabled for everyone. When you join a Zoom meeting, the host and members do not see your computer screen. They can only see your video and hear your sound if you have turned on the camera and microphone. You can turn off both and continue to join a Zoom meeting as a listener or spectator.
Point: Find out how to mute yourself on Zoom during a meeting.
If a host shares their screen, only that screen is visible to all participants. You will need to manually click and tap the Share Screen button in the Zoom app to share your screen with others. So this means that screen sharing is not done automatically on your end. You will need to enable the option for this.
Basically, the Zoom host or other participants cannot see your screen without your sharing or permission. In addition, Zoom does not provide any functionality that allows the host to enable screen sharing for your computer without your knowledge or permission. It would have been a serious invasion of privacy if there was such a feature.
In a nutshell, other participants or the host cannot see what apps are installed on your mobile or computer or what you are doing on your device when you haven’t shared your screen. Your permission and action are required to share your device screen in a Zoom meeting.
What will the host see when you share the screen
Zoom offers different ways to share the screen. You can select part of the screen to share, the entire screen, a document, or a browser tab.
When you share the entire screen, other participants can see everything you view on your mobile or PC. If you switch apps or open files, others can see it too. We therefore recommend that you avoid opening a personal file. That said, when you share part of the screen or a browser tab, only that area of the screen will be shared.
Note: Typically, when you share your screen, system audio is not shared. Find out how to share the screen with sound in Zoom.
Can host my apps or files opened during screen sharing
No. Zoom’s screen sharing feature is like a one-person broadcast. It does not work as a remote desktop service such as TeamViewer. This means that no participant can interact with the files or applications on your device. They will not be able to open files / apps, or view emails, etc., on your mobile or PC by themselves. It is only when you open such a screen that they will be able to see what is on it but without controlling it. The power to control your device depends only on your hands.
Also on Guiding Tech
How do I know my screen is shared
On a computer, when you start screen sharing, you will see a green border around the area that is being shared. You will also see a message or bar that says “You are sharing the screen”. Click the Stop Sharing button to stop sharing your screen.
On an Android phone, you will see an icon in the notification bar. On top of that, you’ll also see a screen sharing menu at the bottom.
On iPhone and iPad, you will see a screen broadcast icon in the status bar with the message in the Zoom app.
Safety is in your hands
As you saw above, other meeting participants will not be able to see your screen without your permission. Unless you decide to show them your screen. Rest assured, because they can only be the public and can not play with your computer or mobile. So if that thought bothered you, take a pill and join Zoom meetings without any worries.
If you’re still concerned about your privacy on Zoom, check out 21 Privacy Tips for a Safe Video Calling Experience from the following link.
Last updated Nov 13, 2020
The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.