How to Delete Instagram Account

How to Delete Instagram Account


Delete Instagram account

To reduce your Instagram addiction, you can always use the Screen Time feature on Android and iPhone. But it’s more of a temporary blockage of your Instagram use. Besides, it is very easy to bypass the time limit and get extra time for browsing Instagram feeds.

You can also temporarily deactivate your Instagram account, but that won’t help either. Instead, it keeps the door open for you to come back to the same Instagram addiction in the future.

By logging in again, you can easily reactivate your Instagram account. The permanent solution is to delete the Instagram account once and for all. Here’s how to delete your Instagram account from the web.

Things to note before deleting an Instagram account

Before deleting your Instagram account, let us notify you of the possible outcomes.

When you delete your Instagram account, it permanently deletes your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers. Even if you create a new Instagram account with the same username in the future, you won’t have the number of followers, photos, likes, etc.

Instagram likes and comments


Instagram likes and comments

If you just want to take a temporary break from Instagram, you can always deactivate your account instead. This way you won’t lose your data and other details in the app.

Once Instagram deletes your account, you can try to sign up again with the same username, but you can’t. This is because Instagram will not allow you to retrieve that username or account.

Finally, you cannot delete your account using Instagram mobile apps. You will need to use Instagram web or mobile browser to delete your account.

Download your Instagram data

As we mentioned above, when you delete your Instagram account, all data including photos and posts is deleted. You can use Instagram’s data download tool and save this information before proceeding with the Instagram deletion option.

Follow the steps below to download your Instagram data from the web.

Step 1: Visit Instagram on the web and sign in using your account credentials.

2nd step: From Instagram home, click on the profile menu in the upper right corner.

Select Instagram profile


Select Instagram profile

Go to instagram settings


Go to instagram settings

Step 4: Go to Privacy & Security in the left sidebar.

Open privacy and security


Open privacy and security

Step 5: Scroll down and find the option to download data.

Step 6: Select Request Download.

Request an Instagram account


Request an Instagram account

Step 7: Instagram will confirm your email id that you want to get the information from. Select the HTML or JSON information format.

Select Instagram data format


Select Instagram data format

Step 8: Enter your Instagram password in the next menu and select Request download.

Enter the password to get the instagram data


Enter the password to get the instagram data

Wait a while and Instagram will email you a relevant file with all the account details.

Now that you have all of your Instagram messages and photos, you can permanently delete the account.

Also on Guiding Tech

Delete Instagram account

For security reasons, you cannot ask Instagram to delete an account for you. Instead, you will need to log into your account to request the deletion. If you can’t remember your password or username, you can follow these tips to recover them.

Step 1: Open Instagram on the web and log into your account with a username and password.

Unfortunately, there is no way to delete an Instagram account from the Settings page or from the Profile menu. Instagram created more confusion by creating a dedicated page to delete the Instagram account.

2nd step: Go to the Delete your account page on your computer. Since you have already logged into Instagram with the browser, you will see your account name mentioned at the top.

Instagram delete your account


Instagram delete your account

Step 3: Instagram will ask you why you want to remove the question from the account. Select a relevant answer.

Select the reason for Instagram deletion


Select the reason for Instagram deletion

Step 4: Enter your Instagram password again and use the Remove button below to completely remove your identity from your Instagram account.

Delete instagram


Delete instagram

You can follow the same steps on a mobile browser to delete Instagram account on your phone.

Instagram will delete your profile and your account after 30 days. You won’t be visible on Instagram until then. If you change your mind within a month, you can log back in before the deletion date and choose to keep your account.

Delete your Instagram presence

To use a specific username, some business users acquire another Instagram account and delete that account to use the same username with their brand. Have you deleted your Instagram account? Why did you act? Share your reasons in the comments below.

Last updated on August 21, 2021

The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.

(function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(d.getElementById(id))return;js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5&appId=1652915528311925″;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}(document,’script’,’facebook-jssdk’));

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *