How to Remove Shared Files from Google Drive

How to Remove Shared Files from Google Drive


Delete shared files from Google Drive

Whenever you open a Google Doc, Slide, or Sheet file shared by others, save images from Gmail to Google Drive, or upload images via Google Drive link from the web, all media ends up in the Shared section. with me. After a few months, you may not need these Drive files anymore. So you can remove them and eliminate the clutter so that only the files that are important to you are visible.

1. Google Drive Web

For the best experience, you should opt for Google Drive Web to remove shared files. Here’s how.

Step 1: Visit Google Drive on the web.

2nd step: Sign in using your Google account details.

Step 3: In the left sidebar, select Shared with me.

Shared with me menu delete shared files from Google Drive


Shared with me menu delete shared files from Google Drive

Step 4: You will find the suggested files and all shared files with the name and date of the original owner.

The menu should include all types of media files like PDFs, sheets, folders, photos, etc.

Step 5: Take a look at the list and right click on a file you want to delete from Google Drive.

Delete shared files


Delete shared files

Step 6: Select Delete from the context menu and you are good to go.

If you’re always on the go, you can also delete shared files from Google Drive using mobile apps. Let’s start with Google Drive for iPhone.

Also on Guiding Tech

2. Google Drive for iPhone

While Google is committed to releasing apps with a native appearance for iPhone users, the company still uses a user interface that closely matches Android.

Follow the steps below to remove sharing from Google Drive iOS app.

Step 1: Download and install Google Drive using the link below.

Download Google Drive for iPhone.

2nd step: Open the Google Drive app.

Step 3: Tap the Shared tab at the bottom.

Access the shared menu on the player for i Phone


Access the shared menu on the player for i Phone

Step 4: Tap the three-dot menu next to a file or folder you want to delete.

Step 5: Select Remove and confirm your decision.

Open more menu in the player for i Phone


Open more menu in the player for i Phone

Delete shared drive file on i Phone


Delete shared drive file on i Phone

3. Google Drive for Android

Google Drive recently received the Material You makeover with new widgets on Android. It’s part of Google’s design overhaul for Android. Here’s how to delete shared files from Android Google Drive app.

Step 1: Open the Google Drive app on Android and navigate to the Shared tab on the bottom bar.

2nd step: Select the More menu next to a file and press Delete to clear the space.

Open more menu in the player


Open more menu in the player

Delete file from player on Android


Delete file from player on Android

What happens when you delete files that people have shared with you

You must be wondering what happens if you delete the files that people have shared with you on Google Drive. Will deleted files show up in Drive search results? How to regain access? Let’s clean the air a bit.

  • If you open a file that you deleted, it will appear again in the “Shared with me” menu.
  • Files that you deleted may still appear in Drive search results.
  • Collaborators will still have access to the Drive files you deleted.

Download files shared with me

If you’ve collaborated with people on Files Sharing in Google Drive, you can still download it to your PC or Mac for offline use.

Step 1: Visit Google Drive on the web and go to the Shared with me menu.

Shared with me menu delete shared files from Google Drive


Shared with me menu delete shared files from Google Drive

2nd step: Right click on a file or folder.

Step 3: Select the Make a copy option and add the selected files to your Drive account.

Make a copy of the shared file delete shared files from Google Drive


Make a copy of the shared file delete shared files from Google Drive

Don’t go overboard with this practice though. You should only make copies of relevant files. Otherwise, they will end up consuming a lot of Drive storage space and you may need to subscribe to one of the Google One plans.

Step 4: To use files shared with me for offline use, right-click a file or folder and select Download.

Download the shared Google Drive file


Download the shared Google Drive file

Google Drive will download the file and make it available in the Downloads folder on PC.

Restrict Google Drive file sharing

Are you constantly bothered by a specific Google account sharing Drive files with you? Google Drive offers an option to block Gmail credentials on the web.

Step 1: Go to Google Drive on the web and go to the Shared with me menu.

2nd step: Right-click on a file and select Block Google Mail ID, and the specific account will no longer share files with you.

Block google id delete shared files from Google Drive


Block google id delete shared files from Google Drive

Clean up the Google Drive account

You should make a habit of deleting irrelevant shared files from your Google Drive account. A cluttered Drive account only makes it harder to find relevant files when needed.

Last updated on January 14, 2022

The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.

(function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(d.getElementById(id))return;js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5&appId=1652915528311925″;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}(document,’script’,’facebook-jssdk’));

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twelve − four =