Instagram Delete vs Deactivate: Understand the Difference

Instagram Delete vs Deactivate: Understand the Difference

Platforms like Instagram, Facebook, Snapchat, etc. You have the option to stay away from Instagram by using the delete or opt-out option. But which one is the best for you? Let’s understand the differences between the two.


Disable vs delete instagram

Instagram allows you to take a break from the service with two options. You can either delete your account option or use the deactivate my account feature.

Before you go ahead and use all of this, you need to understand the differences and possible outcomes of the two options.

Instagram Delete vs Disable: Where are these options

Instagram hasn’t added delete and disable options in mobile apps on iPhone and Android. You can only use them through the web browser on desktop or mobile.

In our opinion, Instagram should have offered both options in the official Instagram apps.

Delete Instagram account


Delete Instagram account

The Deactivate my account (deactivate) option is accessible from the Instagram web interface. Instagram has a separate web page to delete the account, making it harder for consumers to find the option.

What happens when you delete or deactivate your Instagram account

Temporarily disabling your Instagram account hides your comments, likes, profile, number of followers, and other details. You can still view them or view them after logging into Instagram using apps or the web.

Some users only want to deactivate their Instagram account to protect their account identity from others. In this case, you don’t need to take this drastic step, you can always make your account private from Settings> Privacy> Private account option.

Open instagram settings


Open instagram settings

Private your instagram account


Private your instagram account

When you delete your Instagram account, you will permanently lose your account, profile, username, videos, photos, comments, likes and followers.

After deleting your account, your username is publicly available again. This means that someone else can use your username and create an account on Instagram. So be careful when using this step.

Once Instagram has completely deleted your account, you can re-register with the same username or add that username with another account as long as it is not used by someone new on Instagram.

When you use the opt-out option, your Instagram username stays with you. No one can use the same username to create an account in the app.

Also on Guiding Tech

Steps to take before deleting or deactivating your Instagram account

You don’t have to do anything before deactivating your Instagram account. You can just follow the steps on the Instagram help page and deactivate your Instagram account.

When using the delete function, you need to download the backup copy of your Instagram data.

I like Instagram


I like Instagram

After a certain period of time, Instagram will also remove all of your details from the server. All those photos and videos that you uploaded over the years to Instagram will be gone.

Check out our guide to downloading Instagram data and how to delete the account afterwards.

Remove Instagram vs. deactivate: how to regain access

When you deactivate your Instagram account, you have an easy way to regain access. Reconnect to Instagram using the mobile apps or the web, and you’re ready to consume the familiar Instagram feed again.

If you are not used to password managers, there is a good chance that you will forget your Instagram credentials. However, you can follow these tips to sign in and recover your account.

Recover Instagram


Recover Instagram

With Instagram’s delete option, the company keeps all of your information for 30 days. This means that no one can use your username for the first 30 days to sign up for Instagram. And you can start using Instagram again within 30 days.

It may take up to 90 days to complete the removal process once it has started. Copies of your content may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that Instagram uses to recover in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event.

After 30 days, you can use the same username and create a new account on Instagram. Your subscriber count and other data is gone. So you start over.

Take a break from Instagram addiction

Instagram addiction is real. If this affects your workflow or social life, you can temporarily deactivate your Instagram account or delete it permanently. However, before doing this, it is important to understand the differences between the two. Otherwise, you might end up using an incorrect function for the wrong purpose.

Last updated on August 30, 2021

The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.

(function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(d.getElementById(id))return;js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5&appId=1652915528311925″;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}(document,’script’,’facebook-jssdk’));

See also  File system error when pasting password in UAC credential box on Windows 10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *