What Happens When You Clear Cache of TikTok App

What Happens When You Clear Cache of TikTok App

Most mobile apps build cache and data over time. These items are stored in your phone’s internal memory to load the application interface faster. The same goes for TikTok, where the more you use the app, the more data it stores on your phone. The question then becomes whether you should clear the TikTok cache after hours and days of watching videos. Also, what happens when you purge the cache of the TikTok app?

See also  How to Remove Profile Icons from Chrome on Taskbar

What happens when you clear your cache on Tik Tok

We recommend that you periodically clear the app’s cache and data, as it might consume a lot of storage space and possibly affect the performance of the app. You will learn how to clear the TikTok cache on Android and iOS phones, why you should care, and what to expect once you’ve done it.

Let’s start.

TikTok cache files

All the apps store the cache files on the phone so that every time you open this app it is as fast as the first time you use it. Instead of downloading everything from the web every time you use it, apps like TikTok dig into cache files stored on your smartphone to perform repeated basic functions quickly and easily.

This has other merits. It consumes less mobile data because TikTok has to download only a specific type of data (new content updates) instead of everything. What type of data is stored by TikTok?


What happens when you clear your cache on Tik Tok 8

The TikTok app stores your TikTok profile details, app settings, details about videos you have watched / downloaded on the platform, viewing history, filters, effects, videos that you like, etc. That said, TikTok does not record the video itself but some details about the video.

Clearing cache files can improve performance, increase storage, and resolve common errors that most users face when using an application.

The caching process takes place in the background and you don’t even notice the difference. Unless you delete the TikTok cache and open the app again.

What happens when you clear the TikTok cache

You will be starting over from scratch, which means you may need to reconnect. Purging the cache removes your login information and profile. When you sign in to TikTok again, the app downloads a new copy of the cache. It will take a while, a few moments, and you should review your profile.


What happens when you clear your cache on Tik Tok 7

That said, TikTok will not delete any videos that you downloaded or liked. It also won’t delete your comments or comments that people have left on your videos. All your data, including your profile details and history, is safe. This information is based on TikTok’s servers. It’s all in the cloud and the app downloads parts of it back to your smartphone to speed up content delivery and improve performance.

The cache footprint will be really small at first and will continue to build up over time, like the last time before you cleared it.

Also on Guiding Tech

Memory dump

TikTok has taken the world by storm, but it’s not all sun and rainbows. Like all social media apps, it suffers from privacy and security issues and has its fair share of scandals and scams. But that doesn’t mean that there is nothing good about it. There are many cool accounts that teach you new things and keep you entertained.

The more you use the application, the more it will consume storage space and
slow down your phone and the TikTok app itself. It is a good idea to erase
cache files and data from time to time. You are not going to lose your
profile or associated data, but this will only improve your user
experience. This is what you want. A better experience using your
favorite application.

If you know of any other TikTok tips and tricks, share them in the comments section below.

Then:

Worried about the privacy and security of your data on TikTok? You should be. Here are some privacy and security tips for TikTok users that you should check out right now.

Last updated Jul 18, 2020

The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

12 − 9 =