What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Snapchat

What Happens When You Clear Your Cache on Snapchat

Each mobile application creates an application cache as you use it. Removing this cache data has interesting advantages. In this article, we cover everything you need to know about clearing the cache on Snapchat and how to do it on your Android and iOS device.

Depending on your device, Snapchat allows you to empty the entire application cache or individually by application function. We will demystify some queries and questions you may have about clearing the Snapchat cache in the sections below.

Snapchat cache explained

Like all other mobile or PC apps, Snapchat saves a collection of files to your device to help it work faster when you use it. These files are called Cache and for Snapchat, the app stores the cache for almost all the functions / features of the app that you use the most.

For context, Snapchat stores the cache for each of the following application features: memories, stories, stickers, lenses, etc. When you use these features, Snapchat creates a cache that speeds up the app. For example, you have saved a snapshot in your memories, Snapchat creates a cache of this snapshot and saves it (read: the cache) on your device. This whole caching process takes place so that whenever you want to view this snapshot on your device, it loads very quickly without any delay.


Clear the cache of the snapchat image

The same goes for objectives. When you use or download a new lens on your Snapchat, a lens cache is saved on your device. So, the next time you launch the Snapchat app, the lens loads quickly and almost immediately without.

As you use more and more features on Snapchat, the more cache the app creates on your device. While this has its advantages, the Snapchat cache can be quite a pig storage. For context, Snapchat is one of the apps that uses the most storage space on my phone. And I barely use the app.


Clear the Snapchat cache

If you run out of storage on your smartphone, clearing the Snapchat cache is one of the best ways to free up space – which is why many people do it anyway. But what happens when you clear the cache on Snapchat? We answer some questions you may have in the section below. Before that, learn how to clear the Snapchat cache on Android and iOS devices.

How to Clear the Snapchat Cache

For Android

Step 1: Tap the profile photo icon in the upper left corner of the app.


Clear the Snapchat cache 01

2nd step: Tap the gear icon to launch the Snapchat settings menu.


Clear snapchat cache 02

Step 3: Scroll to the bottom of the Settings page and under the Account Actions section, tap Clear Cache.


Clear the Snapchat cache 03

Step 4: Select Continue to confirm the action and continue.


Clear Snapchat cache 04

For iphone

Step 1: Tap the profile photo icon in the upper left corner of the app.


Clear Snapchat cache 05

2nd step: Tap the gear icon to launch the Snapchat settings menu.


Clear the Snapchat cache 06

Step 3: Scroll to the bottom of the Settings page and under the Account Actions section, tap Clear Cache.


Clear Snapchat cache 07

When it comes to clearing the cache, the iOS iOS app is much better than the Android version. This is because Snapchat for iOS gives you the option to choose individual caches to delete. So unlike Android, where you can only delete the entire application cache, you can choose to delete the cache for the functionality of each application like memories, goals, stories, etc.

Step 4: Now select the application feature cache you want to delete.


Clear Snapchat cache 08

You can also press the Clear All button to clear the entire application cache.

Step 6: Whichever cache you have chosen to clear, press Clear to confirm the action.


Clear the Snapchat cache 09

Clearing the cache deletes your Snapchat files

When you clear your Snapchat cache, what you’re just telling Snapchat to do is delete the data / files that have been automatically saved to your device. Whether it is files of your stories, memories or goals, they will all be deleted – as long as Snapchat has saved them to your device in the background, without your knowledge.

Clearing your Snapchat cache will not delete any data from your Snapchat account. To add, the photos / videos you have saved in the gallery or the camera roll of your device will not be deleted.

What happens to saved chats and messages

Your conversations (chats and saved messages) are also secure and cannot be deleted if you clear the cache on Snapchat.

Are lenses and filters removed


Clear the Snapchat cache 01

When you add or use filters and lenses on Snapchat, the app saves them to your device. This is why you can use these filters when you launch the application, even without an Internet connection. Snapchat automatically downloads the lenses you use to your phone so you can easily use them anytime.

When (or if) you clear the lens cover on Snapchat, however, these saved filters will be deleted. But there is nothing to worry about. When you launch the app and use your favorite filters again, they are downloaded to your device again. The only downside to clearing the lens cache on Snapchat is that you may experience a delay when you try to use filters again.

On the positive side, removing Lens Cache from Snapchat frees up a ton of storage space on your device, allowing your device to run faster.

When to Clear the Snapchat Cache


Clear the cache of the snapchat image 02

If your device runs out of storage space or if Snapchat displays a “ disk is full ” prompt each time you try to use the app, you should clear its cache. Clearing the Snapchat cache can also help improve the overall performance of the app.

Then:

Is your Snapchat really as secure as you think? Discover 4 ways to strengthen the security of your Snapchat account in the article linked below.

See also  Microsoft Solitaire Collection Not Working [FIXED]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eighteen − twelve =