How to Collaborate on Instagram Posts with Your Friends

How to Collaborate on Instagram Posts with Your Friends


How to collaborate on Instagram posts with your friends

Unlike tagging, you can only collaborate with one more person than you. We’ll show how the Collab feature works and how you can send, accept, and retrieve Collab invitations on Instagram. So, without further ado, let’s dive into it.

How to send an invitation to a collaboration on Instagram

To send an invitation to a collaboration on Instagram, you must use a public account. That said, you can collaborate with the person even if their account is private.

With that out of the way, here’s how to send a collaboration to invite on Instagram from your phone.

Step 1: Launch the Instagram app on your Android or iPhone and tap the + plus icon in the top right corner to create a new post.

New position


New position

2nd step: Now select the media you want to upload collaboratively and press the right arrow. Edit your message as usual and press the right arrow again.

New Instagram post


New Instagram post

Edit Instagram post


Edit Instagram post

Step 3: Now go to the Tag People option.

Tagging people


Tagging people

Step 4: Tap the Invite Collaborator option and use the search box that appears to find the user you want to invite for the collaboration.

Invite a collaborator on Instagram


Invite a collaborator on Instagram

Add a collaborator on Instagram


Add a collaborator on Instagram

To note: If your account is private, you will not get the “Invite a collaborator” option.

Step 5: Once added, you will see their name appear as a collaborator. You can press the Edit Collaborator button if you accidentally selected the wrong account. Finally, check your article details and click the right check mark at the top right to publish your article.

Edit collaborator


Edit collaborator

Post on Instagram


Post on Instagram

As soon as the message is published, the other person will receive the collaboration invitation via a direct message and can accept the collaboration invitation sent from there.

How to accept or decline an invitation to a collaboration on Instagram

Once you’ve received the collaboration invitation, here’s how to view and respond to the collaboration invitation on Instagram.

Step 1: Open the direct message you received on Instagram. Tap the View Invitation button to see the post you received the collaboration request for.

Instagram collaboration request


Instagram collaboration request

See the invitation to collaborate on Instagram


See the invitation to collaborate on Instagram

2nd step: Now press the Review button to respond to this invitation. You can accept or decline the request from here.

Examine the collaboration request


Examine the collaboration request

Accept the collaboration request


Accept the collaboration request

Once you accept the request, the post will be shared with all of your subscribers and will also appear in your profile.

How to revoke a collaboration invitation on Instagram

If you no longer want to collaborate with the person, or if you sent the collaborate request to the wrong person, you can also revoke the collaborate request on Instagram by simply detaching it from the post. Read on to find out how.

Step 1: Go to your Instagram collaboration post. Tap the three-dot menu icon at the top right and choose Edit from the resulting menu.

Edit the publication of the collaboration


Edit the publication of the collaboration

2nd step: Here, tap on the “No Person” option at the bottom left. Now tap on the cross icon next to the invitee’s name to remove it and revoke the collaboration invitation.

Delete collaborator on Instagram


Delete collaborator on Instagram

Detach the person from the publication of the collaboration


Detach the person from the publication of the collaboration

Step 3: Finally, tap the right check mark to save the changes.

Save the post to Instagram


Save the post to Instagram

That’s it. The invited person will no longer see the invitation. However, they’ll see the post you sent the invite for as a direct message.

How to opt out of collaborative posts on Instagram

If you want to end your collaboration and stop sharing the post from your profile, you can easily opt out of the collaborative post.

To opt out of Collaborative Posting on Instagram, go to Collaborative Post. Now tap the three-dot menu icon at the top right and choose the Stop Sharing option from the list. Tap Stop Sharing again when prompted.

Stop sharing


Stop sharing

Opt out of collaborating on Instagram


Opt out of collaborating on Instagram

Once done, Instagram will remove your name from the collaboration and remove the post from your profile.

Also on Guiding Tech

Collaborate and create

Instagram’s collaboration feature was a welcome addition and one that many of us would appreciate. And it’s great for creators who can now easily associate on a post and increase engagement. Let us know what you think of this feature in the comments below.

Want to create eye-catching Instagram posts? Learn how to use Canva to edit your Instagram posts like a pro.

Last updated on November 2, 2021

The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.

(function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(d.getElementById(id))return;js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5&appId=1652915528311925″;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}(document,’script’,’facebook-jssdk’));

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 × two =