How to Edit and Undo Messages in iMessage on iPhone and Mac

How to Edit and Undo Messages in iMessage on iPhone and Mac

iMessage finally gets much-requested features in iOS 16 and macOS Ventura update. You can now edit embarrassing typos or undo messages in bad conversations. You no longer need to follow up with an explanation. Here’s everything you need to know about editing or undoing sent messages in iMessage on iPhone and Mac.

iMessage competitors such as WhatsApp and Telegram allow users to edit and undo messages. With iOS 16, Apple is catching up with its competitors with the new Undo Send feature. Let’s check both features in action on iPhone and Mac.

Update your iPhone and Mac to the latest version

As we mentioned in the introduction, the ability to edit and cancel sent messages is available in the latest iOS and macOS versions. You need to update your iPhone and Mac to the latest version to use the feature. Follow the steps below to install iOS 16 and macOS Ventura on iPhone and Mac respectively.

We used iOS 16 and macOS Ventura public beta to capture screenshots.

Update iOS on iPhone

Step 1: Open the Settings app on iPhone.

2nd step: Select the General menu.

Step 3: Tap Software Update.

Step 4: Download and install iOS 16 version on iPhone.

Update macOS on Mac

Step 1: Select the Apple icon in the upper left corner.

2nd step: Open the System Preferences menu.

Step 3: Click Software Update.

Step 4: Download and install the macOS Ventura (13.0) update on the Mac.

Edit and Cancel Messages on iPhone

First, we’ll show you how to edit and undo messages on your iPhone, then we’ll go over some limitations.

Step 1: Open the Messages app on your iPhone.

2nd step: Send a message in any conversation.

Step 3: If you make a typo, long press on a message and select Edit.

Step 4: Edit your message and check the box.

iMessage will show an indication for edited messages.

If you accidentally sent an iMessage to the wrong group or conversation, you can undo the message to delete it from both sides. So far, the limitation of this feature is that the other person must also have iOS 16 or higher running on their iPhone. If the receipt is using a lower iOS version, the message may be visible to them. For those using iOS 16 or later, you’ll see a message saying “(username) didn’t send a message.”

Step 1: Long press on a message you want to cancel.

2nd step: Select “Cancel Send” from the pop-up menu.

Step 3: You will see a cool animation deleting the message on both sides.

Step 4: Unlike Telegram, you will notice “you didn’t send a message” in the conversation.

Telegram deletes messages without a trace. iMessage and WhatsApp leave a message when you cancel a message. While some prefer Telegram’s implementation, iMessage and WhatsApp do well with leaving a note for the recipient.

Edit and cancel messages on Mac

When Apple releases a new feature for any inbuilt app, the same is readily available on other platforms. It’s the best part of the Apple ecosystem for a seamless experience. For example, when Apple announced the ability to edit or undo text in iMessage on iPhone, the same is available on iPad and Mac in iPadOS 16 and macOS Ventura update. Let’s check out Mac’s Messages app in action.

Step 1: Open the Messages app on Mac.

2nd step: Select a conversation and send a message.

Step 3: Use a two-finger click on a message (or right-click using a mouse) and select Edit.

Step 4: Type a new message and check the box to send an edited message.

You will notice the changed status, not the message usually delivered below the text.

The cancel message trick works the same as the iPhone.

Step 1: Right-click on a message with the mouse or use a two-finger click from a trackpad and select “Unsend”.

2nd step: The Messages app will delete the message from the conversation.

Before you update your iPhone or Mac to the latest software and start deleting old messages, review the current limitations.

Edit and cancel messages in iMessage: limitations

  • You can edit a message up to 15 minutes after sending it. You will no longer see the “Edit” button after 15 minutes.
  • You can unsend any message up to 15 minutes after sending it. Then 15 minutes should be enough to realize your mistake and delete the message.
  • The recipient’s device must be running the latest version of iOS 16/iPadOS 16/macOS Ventura. Otherwise, the person still sees the message on devices running old software.

Correct your typos in iMessage

Apple’s implementation of editing or deleting a message leaves a lot to be desired. A window limit of 15 minutes may be small for some. We hope to see Apple extend it to a minimum of one hour to allow users to edit or cancel a sent message.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.