Instagram offers several privacy features like restrict, report, mute, and block to prevent your account from being spammed and harassed. When things go wrong with someone, the person can block you on the platform. As this is a privacy feature, the app will not notify you of the blocking. Here are some signs to tell if someone has blocked you on Instagram.
When you spam someone with countless messages, leave inappropriate comments or tag them in irrelevant messages, the person can block you. Your broken friendship or relationship with someone can put you on their blocked list. But how do you know if someone has blocked you? Well, here are the indicators.
1. Find the person on Instagram
This is one of the effective ways to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram. You can search for the person by their Instagram username, and if the account doesn’t show up in the search results, it’s disabled (very unlikely) or you’re blocked.
Step 1: Launch Instagram on your phone.
2nd step: Tap on the search bar and search for Instagram username at the top.
If the person only removed you from the list of followers, you can still see their account with the message “This account is private”. You can always send another follow-up request.
Instagram allows users to change their username on the platform. If someone has changed their username, their account will not appear in search results.
2. Verify Instagram profile on web
If someone has deactivated or deleted their Instagram account, the app will not show the same in search results. When you create an Instagram account, the service assigns you a unique URL. You can use the URL to share your account with someone and even find your blocked status.
Step 1: Open your favorite browser on mobile or desktop.
2nd step: Enable private tab or incognito mode.
Step 3: Tap the search bar and type the following URL.
(Replace ‘username’ with an actual username)
Step 4: If the person’s Instagram account loads successfully on the web and doesn’t show up in app search results (check the tip above), you’re stuck.
If the person has deleted or deactivated the account, you will see a “Sorry, this page is not available” message on the web.
3. Check the user’s profile on Instagram
You can try to access someone’s Instagram profile through old comments and DMs. If the account shows a specific number of messages with the status “No messages yet”, it means that they have blocked you.
4. Get help from your friend
You can ask your mutual friend to find the Instagram account on their phone. If the person’s account appears on your friend’s Instagram account and not yours, the person has blocked you on Instagram.
Blocked on Instagram: FAQ
Now that you know someone has blocked you on Instagram, let’s go over some frequently asked questions about such a situation.
Can I send messages to a blocked account?
If you have a past DM history with the account, you can open it and send as many messages as possible. But since the person has blocked you on Instagram, none of the messages will reach their account. Even if the person unblocks you in the future, Instagram won’t forward any messages you send during the blocking period.
Can I see their profile picture?
Unlike WhatsApp, Instagram does not hide profile pictures of blocked accounts. Even if you’re blocked, you can still see the person’s profile picture.
Can I send a follow request if the person has blocked me?
You cannot send a follow request to someone who has blocked you on Instagram.
What happens when someone blocks you on Instagram?
Once someone blocks you on Instagram, you can’t see their posts, send messages, find them on the app or web, or dial a video call. You can also add the person to a group.
Can you see a list of accounts that have blocked you?
When you block multiple accounts on Instagram, you can view the full list in the Privacy settings menu. However, you can check any list of accounts that blocked you.
Confirm your relationship status on Instagram
You can also make an educated guess when you stop seeing someone’s posts and stories on Instagram. Then you can use the trick above to confirm your blocked status. If you have any questions regarding the block feature on Instagram, feel free to share them in the comments below.