In this article, we’ve covered what Vanish Mode means and various questions you might have regarding the new feature. We also explained how to turn Vanish Mode on or off.
What does disappear mode mean on Facebook Messenger and Instagram
Vanishing mode can be considered the powerful version of the undo function. Often times we don’t send messages if we don’t want both parties to keep track of them. Instead of preventing you from sending messages one by one, Facebook helps you delete messages completely with Vanish Mode.
Vanish Mode is a new feature available on Facebook Messenger and Instagram for individual contacts. It works the same on both apps. The mode basically offers pop-up messaging where messages automatically disappear after the other person sees them.
Traditionally, messages stayed in your inbox until you deleted them yourself or didn’t send them. When disappearance mode is on for a contact, messages are deleted from both parties’ inboxes after the other person views them. You need to close the chat, and the messages would be gone once you reopened it. If the other person hasn’t seen the message yet, the message will still be visible to you.
Note: You can keep Vanish mode on for multiple chats at the same time. However, Vanish mode does not work for group chats.
Does Vanish Mode send screenshot notifications
One of the important features of Vanish Mode is the screenshot notification. If you take a screenshot when Hiding Mode is active, the other person will be notified. So be careful. However, screenshot notifications are not sent when you capture regular messages.
Will the other person know that Vanish mode is active
Vanish mode is activated for both sides, namely the sender and the recipient of the message. They will see a different screen with the Vanish mode written quickly on the chat. So yes, the other person will come to know about Vanish Mode. In addition, the other person has the right to deactivate Hiding mode.
What happens to old messages
When you turn on Disappearance mode, you will see a blank screen with no old messages. But do not worry. Messages sent outside of Vanish mode will remain unchanged. As soon as you turn off the mode, you can see your regular messages. Basically, old regular messages won’t go away if Hiding mode is on or off.
How long does Vanish mode stay active
Disappearance mode remains active until you manually turn it off. Even if you close the chat and open it again, you can start chatting in Vanish mode directly if it is active. However, the messages will disappear when viewed by another party and the chat window will close.
Can you cancel sending messages in disappear mode
Interestingly, you can also cancel sending messages while in Vanish mode. So if you accidentally sent the wrong message, just cancel it. Such a message will immediately disappear from the chat.
Point: Find out how to see the first post on Instagram without scrolling to the top.
Also on Guiding Tech
How to activate disappear mode
Open the chat in Facebook Messenger or Instagram for which you want to activate Vanish mode. Swipe up from the bottom of the chat until you see a disappear screen. You can also go to individual chat settings and enable Vanish mode.
How to turn off disappear mode
To get rid of Vanish mode, swipe up from the bottom of the chat screen again. Otherwise, tap the Disable Hiding Mode button in the chat.
Note: Anyone in the chat can turn Vanish Mode on or off at any time.
What happens when you turn off disappear mode
When you turn off Vanishing Mode, you will be returned to normal chat. You will see your old messages that were sent outside of Vanish mode. And everything will appear normal.
If you turn off disappearance mode before the other person sees your disappearing message, the message will still arrive as a disappearing message in their inbox. Once they see it, the message will be deleted from both parties’ inbox.
Note: Even screenshots taken for messages that disappeared after turning off the mode will show a notification.
By now you should have figured out that Vanish Mode is a pretty sneaky feature. You might think Facebook must have had good intentions to introduce this feature. But considering how easy it will be to cheat using this feature, you have to be very careful. Be a responsible person and use the feature with caution,
Love messaging people on Instagram? From the following link, check out other cool features available in Instagram posts.
Last updated on Dec 16, 2020
The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.