How to Log Out of Gmail App on Android, iPhone, and iPad

How to Log Out of Gmail App on Android, iPhone, and iPad

Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad RF

Signing out or signing out means you want to end the session for the account you are using on a device. You will need to re-enter your credentials to use the account again on the same device. Is it even possible to sign out of the Gmail app, and how do I get it done?

Let’s start our journey to know the answers.

Can you sign out of the Gmail app

Without sucking my words, let me say it straight. There is no sign out button in Gmail mobile apps. Yes, you read that right.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 1

When you add a Google account on your Android or iPhone / iPad, your phone or tablet will automatically use it to access installed Google services. This includes Gmail and other services like YouTube, Google Drive, Docs, etc. However, the synchronization function must be activated to receive new emails. Otherwise, even though you can view and access emails when you open the app, you will not receive any new emails.

If you want to sign out of the Gmail app, it’s not a straightforward or straightforward process. There are several ways to stop using and receiving new emails in the Gmail app. You can deactivate the account or remove the Google account from your phone. You can also turn off synchronization. Another workaround is to uninstall or disable the Gmail app. Let’s check the steps and the repercussions of the two methods.

Method 1: deactivate Gmail account (iPhone and iPad)

This method only works on iOS and iPadOS. Here are the steps:

Step 1: Launch the Gmail app on your iPhone or iPad. Tap the profile picture icon in the top right corner.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 6a

2nd step: Select Manage accounts on this device from the pop-up screen.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 7

Step 3: Turn off the toggle next to the account you don’t want to show in the Gmail app. Tap the Done button at the top of the pop-up window to save the changes.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 8

When you turn off the toggle, the account disappears from the Gmail app. You will not be able to view emails or receive new emails for these accounts. However, if you turn on the toggle again in step 3, you can see and receive new emails.

Point: Confused between Apple Mail and the Gmail app? Check out our in-depth comparison of Apple Mail and Gmail apps.

Method 2: delete the Google account

It is one of the safest ways to sign out of the Gmail app. However, this has serious effects.

When you delete the Google account from your phone, you cannot access data from that account in Google apps. In other words, you will be logged out of Gmail, YouTube, Maps, Google Drive, Contacts, etc.

Removing the Google account from a phone does not remove the account from the Google servers. Thus, none of your data from Google applications will be deleted. It just removes the account from your phone. You can still access the account on other devices by signing in. If you want to access the account on the same device, you will need to add the account again. Read in detail what happens when deleting a Google account from Android or iOS / iPadOS.

Point: Use this method if your Google Account is signed in on someone else’s phone, or if you give your phone to someone else for use.

Here are the steps:

Step 1: Open the Gmail app and tap the profile photo icon at the top.


Sign out of Gmail Android iPhone iPad 2

2nd step: Tap Manage accounts on this device. Skip to step 3 if you are using an iPhone or iPad, otherwise keep reading.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 3

On an Android phone, you will be taken to the Accounts screen where you will see all the accounts saved on your phone. Tap the Google account you want to delete.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 4

Point: You can access the account screen from Phone settings> Accounts. On Samsung phones, tap Accounts again. Then tap on the Google account you want to delete.

Step 3: On iPhone and iPad, tap the Remove button from this device under your account.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 9

On Android phones, tap the Remove Account button. A confirmation message will appear. Confirm when prompted. If the Remove Account button isn’t available, tap the three-dot icon at the top and select Remove Account.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 5

Method 3: turn off sync (Android)

If you don’t want to receive new emails on your Android phone, you can turn off the sync feature. When you do this, new emails will not automatically appear in the Gmail app. If you open the Gmail app and refresh it, you can see your new emails.

To turn off sync for Gmail, open settings on your phone and go to Accounts. Tap your Google account.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 4

Tap Account sync. Disable the button next to Gmail.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 10

Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 11

Point: Check out 5 ways to add Google account to Android phones without syncing contacts, photos, etc.

Method 4: Clear Data (Android)

On Android, deleting data from Gmail app will also help you sign out. When you clear the data from the Gmail app, the app behaves like a freshly installed app. Your emails will not be deleted. You can still access it from another device.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 15

If you do not open the app or configure the app after clearing the data, you will not receive new emails. But if you configure the app, the app will work normally.

Here are the steps to clear data from Gmail app:

Step 1: Open the settings on your Android phone and go to Apps.

2nd step: Under All apps, tap Gmail, then tap Storage.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 12

Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 13

Step 3: Press the Clear Storage or Clear Data button.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 14

Also on Guiding Tech

Method 5: Uninstall the Gmail app

Finally, if the above methods don’t work, you can uninstall the Gmail app from your phone or tablet. Since Gmail comes preinstalled on most Android phones, you can’t uninstall it completely. You can only deactivate it.

Removing the Gmail app will only remove the app from your phone. Your emails will be safe and intact. You can view them from another device. If you want to use Gmail in the future, reinstall the app from the Play Store (Android) or the App Store (iPhone / iPad).

To remove the Gmail app on Android phones, open Settings and go to Apps. Tap Gmail under All apps. Tap Disable. Confirm on the pop-up screen.


Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 16

Logout Gmail Android iPhone iPad 17

On iPhone and iPad, touch and hold the Gmail app on the Home screen. When the icons start to shake, tap the crosshair icon in the Gmail app. Otherwise, tap on the Remove app option if it appears. Find out other ways to remove an app from iOS and iPadOS.

Bonus: use multiple accounts in Gmail

If you want to sign out of the Gmail app only to access another account, you’re taking the wrong approach. You can use multiple accounts in the Gmail app without signing out of any of them.

Basically just add the multiple Google accounts on your Android or iPhone. Then open the Gmail app and tap on the profile picture icon at the top. Tap the account to switch to that account. Likewise, you can switch between multiple Gmail accounts in the app.

Take it easy, Google

We know that the above methods do not offer a direct way to log out. And some of them have serious repercussions. But that’s how it is right now. Just like you, we’re also hoping that Google will add a native sign out button in the Gmail app to make things easier for everyone.

Then:

Worried about the security of your Google Account? Check out 5 tips from the following link to secure a Google account in the best possible way.

Last updated on Dec 4, 2020

The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *