Reset has different meanings depending on the application or gadget you are using. If you perform a hard reset, anything on the device will be deleted. The soft reset simply restarts the device. But a reset, in the case of applications and settings, usually involves restoring the default settings.
The latter is valid for resetting Chrome settings as well. However, not all settings are restored to their original values.
Do not be mistaken. Today, we'll explain the consequences of resetting Google Chrome, which settings are affected and which are not. Google offers a quick summary on its support page, but we have deepened (as we always do) to show the nuances of this change.
We will begin by mentioning the changes made by this action, followed by those that remain unchanged. But before that, it's important to understand the user profiles in Chrome and their importance here. Let's jump in.
How user profiles affect Chrome settings
Chrome allows you to add multiple users so everyone has their own set of bookmarks, extensions, history and settings. When you reset Chrome, only this profile, which is currently connected, is affected.
For example, if you have two Home and Work profiles and you reset the browser while you are logged in to your work profile, the following changes will be made to this profile only. Your hosting profile will remain intact.
Let's see what the changes are.
When you reset Chrome settings, you will be signed out of your Google Account on your Chrome profile. You will be shown the message 'Synchronization is paused'. You will need to reconnect to resume synchronization.
Note: Your profile will not be deleted by resetting Chrome.
To resume synchronization, click the profile photo icon in the upper right corner of Chrome. Then click on 'Login again'. Log in with your credentials.
Home button and home page
Resetting Chrome settings will disable your browser's home button. For non-conscious, the home button is present on the left side of the URL box. You can configure it to open the new tab page or customize it and use your own URL.
Now when you reset Chrome, the main button disappears.
You'll need to turn it on in the Chrome settings under Appearance to be able to use it again. Once you activate it, you will notice that if you have defined a custom URL, it will still be there. Just change the option on the New tab page on your website.
The default search engine for Chrome is Google. If you previously used another search engine, it will be set to Google after resetting. In other words, resetting Chrome changes the default search engine again. To change it as you please, go to Chrome Settings> Search Engine.
Note: The data under Manage Search Engines will not be deleted.
When you start Chrome for the first time after turning on your computer, the pages that open are the start pages. You can configure it to open the new tab page, open specific pages, or open the last open pages.
By default, Chrome opens the new tab page. So, when you reset the Chrome settings, the Start Page setting changes to the New Tab page, if you use one of the other two settings.
Site permissions and content settings
This can be the most annoying part of resetting Chrome settings. Indeed, when you do, the settings of your site will be reset. The site settings correspond to the permissions required by the websites, such as access to the microphone, location, camera, pop-ups, and so on.
Cache and Cookies
Resetting Chrome settings will delete temporary data on Chrome, such as cookies and cached files. This is equivalent to deleting items in the Chrome> Clear browsing data> Cookies and other site data, images, and cached files settings.
By deleting cookies, you will be disconnected from various websites on Chrome where you were logged in. Anything you added to your cart will also be deleted if you are not logged in to these sites. However, passwords will not be removed from Chrome.
Chrome allows you to pin your frequently visited websites. A reset will detach them. You will have to pin them all again.
Themes and extensions
The extensions are the soul of Google Chrome. Resetting the Chrome settings will disable all third-party extensions. However, this will not remove them from Chrome and will not reset their default settings. You will have to reactivate them individually again.
Likewise, if you changed the Chrome theme in the settings, it will be replaced by default.
What does not change when you reset Chrome settings
As mentioned at the beginning of the article, the above changes will only apply to the currently connected profile. Nothing will change in the other profiles.
If your favorites, your saved passwords and your browsing history worry you, take a cold pill because they also remain intact. Similarly, downloaded files will not be deleted from your PC.
In the appearance settings, your font and page zoom settings will remain intact. Similarly, if you have hidden the favorites bar, it remains hidden.
Apart from the data contained in the site settings and cookies, nothing changes under the privacy and security settings. Other settings such as download location, printer and accessibility will also remain unchanged.
How long does it take to reset Chrome?
Reset Chrome is a fast deal. It's just a matter of a few seconds or a maximum of a minute or two.
How to reset Chrome settings
Step 1: Open Chrome on your computer and click on the three-dot icon at the top. Select Settings in the menu.
2nd step: Click Advanced to reveal more settings.
Step 3: In Windows, click Reset Settings under Reset and Clean. In Chromebook, Linux, and Mac, click "Restore Defaults" in Reset Settings. Tap Reset Settings to confirm.
When to reset Chrome
Now that you know what happens after you reset Google Chrome settings, press the button securely. You should use it when Chrome is causing you problems, especially regarding extensions. Sometimes a Chrome extension changes a setting unknown to you. Reset Chrome will help in such scenarios.
Then: Google allows you to save favorites in two ways. Check out the difference between Google and Chrome Favorites by checking the link to the article below.