How to reset Windows Backup to Default in Windows 10

If you are having problems with Windows backup or no longer want to use it, you will not find an option to reset its settings. However, if you want to restart or disable the feature, you can do this task with a few commands. In this article we will show you how reset default Windows backup on Windows 10.

Reset Windows backup to default settings

To reset the “Backup and Restore (Windows 7)”, alias Windows Backup Settings, to its default values, follow these steps:

hurry Windows key + R to call the Run dialog box.

In the Run dialog box, type cmd then press CTRL + SHIFT + ENTER to open the command prompt in administrator / elevated mode.

In the command prompt window, copy and paste the command below and press Enter.

reg delete HKLMSOFTWAREMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionWindowsBackup /f

The command will delete the Windows backup registry entry.

Then copy and paste the command below and press Enter.

schtasks /delete /tn "MicrosoftWindowsWindowsBackupAutomaticBackup" /f

The command will delete the scheduled automatic backup task.

READ  What Does Make Available Offline Mean in Google Drive

Then copy and paste the command below and press Enter.

schtasks /delete /tn "MicrosoftWindowsWindowsBackupWindows Backup Monitor" /f

The command will delete the scheduled task from the backup monitor.

Once the steps are completed, the Back up or restore your files The page will be reset to its default settings by deleting all previously configured backup settings allowing you to configure a new program or leave the function disabled.

Note: Resetting the default Windows backup will only reset the default settings, and will not delete any previously saved files. If you want to delete created backups, you will have to delete them manually from the source drive if necessary.

READ  What Is Mac Recovery Mode and How To Use It

Windows backup

In Windows 10, Backup and restore (Windows 7) (aka Windows Backup) is a legacy tool that has existed since Windows 7, and it was designed to create and restore full and differential backups of files or the entire system. It was deprecated in Windows 8 and removed in Windows 8.1, but was included in Windows 10.

Although the tool is obsolete, it continues to be available on Windows 10 and many users still use it to back up files or create full backups in case restoration is required after upgrade or hardware failure .

READ  How to Disable Guest Mode Browsing in Chrome
Related post

Leave a Comment