Google Contacts is a great alternative to iCloud Contacts to sync contacts between iPhones or iPhone and Android. However, you might end up getting confused if you are using them both on your iPhone. You can delete Google contacts from your iPhone if you want to sync them only with your iCloud account.
There are several ways to delete Google contacts from iPhone. To get started, you’ll need to turn off Google Contacts sync in settings. This will stop syncing contacts from Google Contacts to iPhone, and if you have selected Google Contacts as the default contact saving location, it will be replaced with iCloud.
If you want to avoid syncing new contacts with Google Contacts, you will need to change your iPhone’s default account. Moreover, if you only want to show iPhone contacts and hide Google contacts, you can do so without deleting your Google contacts from your iPhone. This article covers all of that.
Let’s see how to stop syncing Google contacts with iPhone.
Note: The following methods also work on Apple iPad.
How to turn off Google Contacts sync on iPhone
This method will delete all Google contacts from your iPhone. For that, proceed as following:
Step 1: Open the settings on your iPhone.
2nd step: Go to Contacts. Tap Accounts.
Step 4: Disable the switch next to Contacts for your Google account. iOS will remind you that your Google contacts will be deleted from your phone. Confirm when prompted.
When you turn off Google Contacts sync on iPhone, Google contacts will be deleted from your iPhone only. That is, they will disappear from the Contacts app and you won’t be able to access them from your iPhone.
However, this does not mean that the contacts will be deleted from all devices. You can still access it from contacts.google.com on the web or on other devices where your Google account is added. Disabling Google Contacts on iPhone will have no impact on other data in your Google Account such as Notes, Calendar, etc., unless and until the buttons available next to they are activated.
Point: Check out 13 amazing tips and tricks for using Google Contacts.
How to delete some Google contacts from iPhone
In case you only want to delete a few Google contacts from iPhone, you will need to delete them. Deleting them on iPhone will also delete them from all devices. So be careful before using this method.
Point: Find out how to restore accidentally deleted Google contacts.
You can use this method if you want Google Contacts to stay on the iPhone but in stealth mode. In other words, you should only be able to view them when you need them. In other words, hide Google contacts on iPhone without deleting or turning off sync.
Here is how to hide and delete some Google contacts from iPhone.
Step 1: Open the Apple Contacts app on your iPhone.
2nd step: Tap the Group option at the top.
Step 3: You will see different contact groups here. Basically, your contacts from different services are categorized into different groups, including one from Gmail.
So if you want to hide Google Contacts from Contacts app then uncheck the box next to All Gmail.
If you want to delete some Google contacts, uncheck the boxes next to all other groups except Gmail so that only Google contacts are visible. When this happens, go to the Home screen of the Contacts app and delete the contacts as you normally would. In other words, open the contact you want to delete. Tap Edit. Scroll down and tap Delete contact. Repeat the step for the other contacts.
Note: Removing or stopping syncing from Google Contacts will not affect iCloud Contacts.
Also on Guiding Tech
How to stop syncing contacts from iPhone to Google contacts
To save new contacts in a service other than Google Contacts, you will need to change the default account in settings.
To do this, follow these steps:
Step 1: Open the settings on your iPhone. Go to Contacts.
2nd step: Tap Default Account. Check the box next to iCloud or a service other than Gmail.
If you only change the default account without turning off Google Contacts sync as shown above, existing contacts from Google Contacts will still show on your iPhone.
Last updated Jan 19, 2021
The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.