It is true! The new launch Android 11 public beta now includes a fantastic new feature – a hidden recycle bin that lets you delete files rather than delete them instantly.
In the new feature unveiled, once you put a file in the trash, it is automatically deleted by the operating system much later, at the end of a 30-day grace period allowing users to recover it . What an incredible safety net if you ever delete the entire audio file folder for this music album that you could never imagine losing. Or, what if you delete all of your recent vacation photos?
Do not worry anymore! Android 11 beta has the solution. It allows you to recover each of these files at the touch of a button.
You can recover files using the MediaStore API
Currently, every time you delete a file, the file is deleted from the system. You have no way of recovering these lost files unless you have a backup somewhere. The new functionality will undoubtedly be a blessing when you unintentionally delete essential files and permanently lose them.
Rather than conventionally accessing your files, as a PC or a recycle bin primarily works, you can only do so using the upgraded MediaStore API application. Essentially, this means that users have the option of throwing the files into, for example, the Android SMS Recycle Bin, instead of deleting them.
Yes, it also means that you can recover these files in the future. You can remove the deleted data at any time within 30 days, as long as the application allows you to do so. You can also do this if you have the necessary user consent. The new system is significantly similar to the recycling bin for Windows computers. The only difference is that Android does not provide a trash folder to view items in the trash.
With the new Recycle Bin, Android works like the MacOS Recycle Bin folder and the Windows Recycle Bin; photos or files accidentally deleted will not be lost within the prescribed time.
You are free to retrieve them using the special provisions of the application described below.
Android 11 Universal Masterstroke
It is a master stroke for Android to have designed the new functionality with the ability to work seamlessly in your device’s operating system. This will be beneficial as it helps you to protect all your precious files, including files which are exclusively stored on your device. These files include those downloaded directly from the web.
You may be wondering: how to empty the trash on Android?
With the new Android 11, you can move your less essential videos and photos to the trash. Additionally, as noted, users of the Android system can access Recycle Bin support via the updated MediaStore API. As a result, the system allows users to easily access a hidden recycling bin, which acts as a storage center for all discarded files. In addition, Android 11 offers the concept of extended storage; this is yet another user upgrade feature.
Most of the time, in this functionality, deleted files are hidden by default. But they can still be retrieved and displayed using the editing access application or a user consent request. Keep in mind that deleted files will be deleted after one month; the automated system does that.
Android 11 functionality limits user access
In particular, a new feature in Android 11 seeks to limit access to users’ applications by requiring consent each time someone tries to make changes to foreign media files. While these limitations are likely to have a greater impact on developers, they are also beneficial to users because they restrict access to specific files. Significantly, the functionality requests authorization before the applications automatically delete the data.
The series of upgrades introduced by Android 11 aims to give users an improved value as well as a unique value compared to what they have already experienced with the Android functionalities of the empty recycle bin. Anyway, as noted, a remarkable change in the new public beta of Android 11 is hidden recycling, which allows users to perform actions previously impossible.
Again, note that after deletion, you will no longer have instant access to deleted files; instead, they will be hidden by default. This is not like the familiar situation where we can regularly access files deleted from the trash. Yes, with the upgraded Android service, you can access these files later.
Extended Android storage functionality
As Roxanna Aliabadi, product manager at Android, explains, the Android 11 operating system will automatically delete a file that is put in the trash. However, it adds that a user is free to delete the recycle bin of a deleted file before the application expires it.
Significantly, the application has the user’s consent by default and, therefore, will provide modification access to the user. Once the green light is on to recover the discarded files, they are sent from the trash and displayed for users’ consumption. The functionality will be possible via the upgraded MediaStrore API.
With the API, users will access both the Trash Request and Non-Trash options. Rather than using the Delete button, you do so by clicking on the Trash option. An earlier demo video had the default recovery set to seven days, but later reset to 30 days. Apparently, Google has made the adjustment to allow users more time to recover deleted files.
The new Android functionality works well with applications compatible with MediaStoreAPI; it transfers the files to a PC-type recycle bin, allowing the user to manage recovery. This revelation is guaranteed to change the way applications typically access regular external storage.
Interestingly, the latest Android upgrade conclusively addresses the previous situation where apps had to request access to external storage where users typically keep their files and media private. The application remedies this by restricting access only to private data repositories.
Google is about to create extended storage required for all future Android 11 apps.
Android 11 CreateRequest Feature
With the new Android 11, users can take the option which allows them to give the files a special status by simply marking them as “favorite files”. Users are not limited to doing so on the default gallery; they can do the same on other platforms by taking advantage of the demand creation function. This is a system that allows users to list videos and photos designated as “favorites first”.