If the Google One the service is not useful to you and you no longer wish to use the additional paid storage from Google Drive, you can cancel subscription to Google One. Previously, this subscription was called paid Google Drive storage, but you can now find it as Google One. Google has rolled out the Google One plan with more storage capacity for paid users. If you have purchased additional storage from Google Drive to store files but no longer need it or it is not suitable for you for any reason, you can always cancel the subscription.
What happens when you unsubscribe from Google One?
There are a few things you should know about this cancellation process so that you don’t get in trouble later.
- All invoices will stop automatically. However, you will not lose the benefits immediately as it is possible to use all paid services until the next billing date. Whether you have a monthly or annual billing cycle, you can continue to enjoy all the benefits until the end of the billing cycle.
- As usual, you can no longer use the additional storage. However, you can keep the 15 GB of default storage that Google provides to all users. If you have more than 15 GB of data on Google Drive, you can keep all the files, but you cannot download new data.
- You can’t sync files between the Google Drive folder on two computers and My Drive.
- You cannot send or receive e-mail if the storage is full and you cancel the subscription.
If you agree with all of these conditions, you must proceed to cancel the subscription.
How to cancel subscription to Google One
To cancel the subscription to Google One, follow these steps:
- Open one.google.com and log into your account
- Click on the Settings menu
- Select the Cancel Membership option
- Confirm the cancellation.
Open the Google One account management page by visiting one.google.com website and log into your account. It must be the same as the one used to purchase the Google One subscription.
Now you should find a settings gear icon on your left side. Click it settings to open another menu. After that click on the Cancel membership option.
Then you must confirm the cancellation by clicking on the Cancel your membership button.
If it redirects you to Google Play Store, you should see a Manage option on your screen. Click on it and select unsubscribe option.
Now you have to confirm the modification by clicking on the unsubscribe button again. Finally, you should receive a message saying – You have successfully canceled your subscription.
If you are using a higher storage plan such as a 2 TB or 10 TB plan and do not need this amount of storage, you can opt for a lower plan. It will cost less and you can continue to enjoy the benefits of Google One. To do this, click on the same settings button and select Modify the storage plan option.
After that, you can find all the plans on your screen. You must select a billing cycle to choose it.
I hope this tutorial will be useful for modifying or canceling the subscription to Google One.