Stop Outlook from reopening emails after a crash

Stop Outlook from reopening emails after a crash

There have been cases where Outlook crashes or quits unexpectedly. When such an incident occurs, the service attempts to reopen items from a previous session. Many do not like this default behavior setting. If you too are a part of it, here’s how you can easily prevent Outlook from reopening emails after a crash.

In the event of an unexpected failure or forced closure of the Outlook application by the user, the service will attempt to remind the user to reopen items from the last session via a prompt message –

Outlook closed while you had items open. Reopen these items from your last session.

Prevent Outlook from reopening emails after a crash

In its release notes, Microsoft mentioned,

We’ve added an option to quickly reopen items from a previous Outlook session. Whether Outlook crashes or you close it, you can now quickly relaunch items when you reopen the app.

The setting is enabled by default, but some preference options are listed for users that allow them to disable this feature.

  1. Launch the Perspective app.
  2. Go to File.
  3. To choose The options.
  4. Move towards Boot options
  5. To select Never restore previous items.

Let’s see the above steps in more detail!

See also  How to change the Case of Text in Word and Google Docs

Launch the Microsoft Outlook application. If you don’t have it, download and install it.

Then choose the “File‘Tab Ribbon menu.

Select “The options‘from the list.

Then go to the right pane and scroll down to “Boot options‘section.

Below you should find an option that says: “When Outlook reopens“.

Once visible, click the drop-down menu button to make all options visible. There are the following options,

  • Ask me if I want to restore the previous items.
  • Never restore the previous items.
  • Always restore the previous items.
See also  How To Study For The AP Chemistry Exam In 5 Easy Steps

Now, since you want to prevent Outlook from reopening previous items, choose the option that reads “Never restore previous items“.

When finished, click the “OK” button to apply the changes made.

Afterwards, your Outlook account will not reopen your previous session, if it failed or crashed unexpectedly and the prompt message will not be displayed.

See also  CMAK-based VPN not working after Windows 10 upgrade

That’s all we can say about it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *